Awards Programs

Maher Stern Award

An annual award to an outstanding NYPL Library Manager and his/her staff.

Read More ›

Minerva Award

Honors each year's Valedictorians from New York City public high school graduates (1997-2003).

Read More ›

Young Lions Fiction Award

Established in 2001, The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award is a $10,000 prize awarded each spring to a writer age 35 or younger for a novel or a collection of short stories. Read More ›

Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism

Since 1988 the annual award, which includes a $15,000 cash prize, has been given to journalists whose books have brought clarity and public attention to important issues, events, or policies.Read More ›

Ezra Jack Keats Award

Given jointly with Ezra Jack Keats Foundation to a promising new children's book author. Ezra Jack Keats Award for Excellence in Children's Literature

Read More ›

NYC Neighborhood Library Awards

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation and Charles H. Revson Foundation, in association with WNYC’s Brian Lehrer Show are pleased to announce the 2014 NYC Neighborhood Library Awards. The Awards will honor five local libraries in New York City for providing exceptional service to their communities. Each winning branch will receive $20,000, the largest cash prize awarded directly to branch libraries in the country. 

Nominate your branch at

Read More ›

The Jean M. Campbell Award

This award recognizes an NYPL staff member who during the past year has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to improving public reference service.

Read More ›